Question: Who Are The 11 Gurus?

Who was the last guru?

Guru Gobind SinghGuru Gobind Singh was the last of the ten Gurus, the one who transformed the Sikh faith..

How many Sikh gurus were there?

10 Sikh GurusThe 10 Sikh Gurus and the dates of their reigns are: 1.

The year 1469 marks the birth of Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism. … He was succeeded by nine other gurus until, in 1708, the Guruship was finally passed on by the tenth guru to the holy Sikh scripture, Guru Granth Sahib, which is now considered the living Guru by the followers of the Sikh faith.

What do Sikh call their god?

WaheguruSikhism is a monotheistic religion. This means that Sikhs believe there is one God. One of the most important names for God in Sikhism is Waheguru (Wonderful God or Lord). Sikhs learn about God through the teachings of Guru Nanak and the nine Sikh Gurus who came after him.

Why are the 10 gurus important?

Sikhs believe the Guru Granth Sahib is the word of God. Therefore, it is the most important source of authority. However, they also learn from the Rahit Maryada and the examples of the Ten Gurus : Guru Nanak – taught Sikhs about oneness of God and oneness of humanity.

Who was the youngest guru in Sikh religion?

Guru Har KrishanGuru Har Krishan ([ɡʊruː həɾ kɾɪʃən]; 17 July 1656 – 9 April 1664) was the eighth of the ten Sikh Gurus. At the age of 5, he became the youngest Guru in Sikhism on 7 October 1661, succeeding his father, Guru Har Rai Ji.

Who lived the longest Sikh guru?

Guru ArjanGuru Arjan spent the first 11 years of his life in Goindwal and the next seven years with his father in Ramdaspur.

Who built Golden Temple?

ArjanIt is located in the city of Amritsar, Punjab state, northwestern India. The first Harmandir Sahib was built in 1604 by Arjan, the fifth Sikh Guru, who symbolically had it placed on a lower level so that even the humblest had to step down to enter it.

Who made Golden Temple?

Guru Arjun DevHistory of Golden Temple Hazrat Mian Mir Ji, a Muslim saint, laid the foundation of the temple and the construction was supervised by Guru Arjun Dev. The guru asked to build the temple at a lower level with four gates, one in each direction. The construction of the temple was started in 1588 and completed in 1601.

Who are the 10 gurus?

History of Ten Sikh GurusGuru Nanak Dev – Guru from 1469 to 1539. … Guru Angad Dev – Guru from 1539 to 1552. … Guru Amardas Sahib – Guru from 1552 to 1574. … Guru Ram Das – Guru from 1574 to 1581. … Guru Arjan Dev – Guru from 1581 to 1606. … Guru Har Gobind Sahib – Guru from 1606 to 1644. … Guru Har Rai Sahib – Guru from 1644 to 1661.More items…•

Who are the 12 gurus?

Who Were the Sikh Gurus?Guru Nanak (1469-1539) Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism, came from a Hindu family in a village populated by both Hindus and Muslims. … Guru Angad (1539-1552) … Guru Amar Das (1552-1574) … Guru Ram Das (1574-1581) … Guru Arjan (1581-1606) … Guru Hargobind (1606-1644) … Guru Har Rai (1644-1661)

Which Sikh gurus were killed?

Of total 10 Sikh gurus, two gurus themselves were tortured and executed (Guru Arjan Dev and Guru Tegh Bahadur), and close kin of several gurus brutally killed (such as the seven and nine-year old sons of Guru Gobind Singh), along with numerous other main revered figures of Sikhism were tortured and killed (such as …